Farm Bureau Rural Entrepreneurship Challenge



The Farm Bureau Rural Entrepreneurship Challenge is the first national business competition focused exclusively on rural entrepreneurs with food and agriculture businesses. Rural Entrepreneurs compete for $145,000 in startup funds. 




The final four teams, chosen from 471 applicants, were each awarded $15,000 and will advance to the next phase of the Challenge to compete for $25,000 at the 2018 American Farm Bureau Federation Annual Convention in Nashville. The final four teams are:

  • GeoAir (Knoxville, TN) 
    Team leads: Alexander Adams & Edward Sobek
  • Hawk Knob (Lewisburg, WV)
    Team leads: Josh Bennett & Will Lewis
  • SwineTech, Inc. (Oskaloosa, IA)
    Team leads: Matthew Rooda & Abraham Espinoza
  • Wild Valley Farms (Croydon, UT)
    Team lead: Albert Wilde

Six best-in-show winners were announced and will be awarded $10,000 in startup funds in the categories below.

Any questions? Contact Robin Kinney at 


WATCH 2018 FB CHALLENGE Top 10 event in WASHINGTON, d.c. 

We announced the 2018 Challenge Top 10 teams at an event on October 23, 2017  in Washington, DC at the American Farm Bureau Federation office. We live streamed the announcement. Check out the video below.



watch 2017 FB challenge competition in phoenix